Removing Linux Bootloader on Windows 7

After installing Linux, on my personal machine, I realized I don’t use it very much, or at all. So, I wanted it gone. A few months ago I tried to just delete the partition and go on, but the bootloader flipped out and wouldn’t let me even boot into Windows. So, I had to manually put in the CD and re-install Fedora to get everything to even load.

Finally I just gave up on the task, until last night it really just pissed me off. So, today at work I decided I would give it another shot. I found this article (http://www.lukeaddison.com/removing-linux-grub-restoring-windows-7-boot-gui/) and it helped me out a lot.

The only thing that didn’t work for me, and I noticed it in a comment, is that after booting from the Windows DVD, and entering into the command line I needed to run:

bootsect /nt60 c: /mbr

and reboot.

That did the trick for me, now everything boots wonderfully. I’m back to removing Linux and plan on installing it as a virtual machine just to make sure that doesn’t happen again.

Leave a Reply

