Mapping Documents from Server to Windows 7

Recently I began taking on the task of moving the file share and user folders from one drive to another. The share wasn’t so much of a problem because I use DFS, so I just pointed the DFS back to the new share folder.  All is good.  I figured that I would give this a shot with my user folders and map them using Group Policy.  Not so good.

It started with not being able to redirect to a server share without having the share indexed.  I then found out that I can’t index a DFS folder.  Which made that solution impossible.  I’m come to terms now that I can’t redirect documents via DFS.  So, I started out on the journey of mapping them through Group Policy, which I’ve done before.  Once I had that set up everything was working great.  Wrong.

Being as caring as I am I noticed that C:\Users\Public was also mapped in Documents along with the server version.  I don’t want users saving to that folder so I had to come up with a solution to remove that folder.  Surprising to me, Group Policy does not have that option, so off to Google I went.  I found a few ‘make your own policies’ options through hacking the registry, which I was fine with, until I read the disclaimer that it cannot be undone simply by removing the policy, so that was off the table.

Then I ran across a comment about using PowerShell and since I love PowerShell and automation I figured this would be a reasonable solution.  I found this site that I have used before to solve my problem.  After downloading the ‘Windows 7 Library’ I extracted the folder and signed the .psm1 script that was in there (see older posts).  Once I did that I created a startup script that consists of:

PS >Import-Module C:\Users\test\Desktop\Wnidows7Library\Windows7Library.psm1

PS>Remove-LibraryFolder -LibraryPath (Get-KnownFolder “DocumentsLibrary”).path -FolderPath “C:\users\public\documents”

Once I ran that command at start-up the C:\Users\Public folder was gone.  So, next I deployed the script through Group Policy and all has been good since.

Leave a Reply

