70-410, My Opinion

Since I recently blogged about studying for the 70-410 Installing and Configuring Windows Server 2012 (R2) I’ve decided to give my opinion about the exam. Granted I hardly passed, I feel that the test was slightly unfair. In my opinion the exam was well written, some questions a little extreme, and there was stuff on it that actually wasn’t covered in the reading/videos I watched.

So, what can I do about the stuff that I felt wasn’t in the material? Nothing. But, I have heard that you will be best suited to study for the 70-410, 70-411 & 70-412 THEN take all 3 tests individually. Some material bleeds over into the next study material. Now I’m moving onto the 40-411 and fully plan to study for the 70-412 before taking it.

If you are planning on taking any of them, good luck!

2 thoughts on “70-410, My Opinion

  1. Any good advice on what you need to study? did you create a lab when you practiced , and what reading book did you study if you don’t mine me asking. I’m in the process of studying but the book changed on me so now i have to get the r2 version just to make sure I don’t miss anything.

    Thanks, and congrats.

    1. Louie,
      My advice would be to do labs if you can, and yes, I had a small lab setup at home. Right now I’m running a Shuttle machine (Ryan Birk http://www.ryanbirk.com/the-perfect-vmware-vsphere-5-homelab/) that is modeled after Ryan’s. Although I’m only running 1 host at the time, it does what I needed for this test. I watched the Pluralsight videos for the 70-410 which gave me a broad overview of what was going to be on the test, but nothing detailed oriented. For reading, I have a Safari Books subscription and I read the “Exam Ref 70-410: Installing and Configuring Windows Server 2012 R2” but, the book I found most value in was the “Training Guide: Installing and Configuring Windows Server 2012 R2”. ISBN 9780735684232 and 9780133967357. Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

